GreekEnglish (United Kingdom)Deutsch (DE-CH-AT)

Transalate



Επισκέπτες Online

We have 15 guests online

Φωτογραφίες

The Tower of Prosforio
The Tower offers are Ouranoupoli next to the picturesque harbor where the ferryboat start on Mount Athos. Ouranoupoli registered trademark of the Tower of offers to the past and which was her name.

Since we wrote that was built before 1344 and was a dependency of the Monastery of Vatopedi, which belonged to the entire surrounding area from 1018 until the Asia Minor disaster, when the estates were divided refugees.

The refugees who settled in the area around the exchange of populations in 1924 faced many difficulties.

In 1928 as humanitarian workers moved the tower a couple of English and Australian origin, the Sidney and Joyce Lock. Their contribution to the life of the country was very important.

The Joyce Lock showed the village women how to weave carpets by hand gidotricha projects that made her husband Athos copying and Eastern motifs.

For over 50 years offers great social contribution to the residents of Ouranoupolis, wrote books and care of the Tower.
Today you can visit the Eiffel offer and enjoy the many finds from the ancient sites of Mount Athos, the Ierissos of Barbara, Megali Panagia, Palioxori, Sidirokafsia and monastery Zigou.