Political situation on Mount Athos

Mount Athos is an autonomous part and is politically under the jurisdiction of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, while religiously it is under the jurisdiction of the Ecumenical Patriarchate.

The Greek state is represented by the civil governor who resides in Karyes, the capital of Mount Athos. 

Mount Athos consists of 20 monasteries, each of which has its own area and each of which it exploits without giving a say to the others. In this area there are Sketes and Cells that are part of it. Responsible for each monastery is the Abbot and he is elected by the monks for life.